How Thin is Support in the US House for Peace and Trade with Russia? 17 Votes.

Seventeen votes from among 433 United States House of Representatives members. That is all the support for peace or free trade with Russia that was on display in the House on Wednesday when the House passed the Suspending Energy Imports from Russia Act (HR 6968) by a vote of 414 to 17, with two members not voting.

As the bill’s name suggest, the bill prohibits the importing into America of a wide range of Russian petroleum and other natural resources products. In addition, the bill directs the United States Trade Representative to take actions in the World Trade Organization (WTO) to condemn Russia, encourage members to restrict their trade with Russia, and bring about the suspension of Russian participation in the WTO. HR 6968 also seeks to enhance sanctioning under the Magnitsky Act.

The anti-peace and anti-trade propaganda barrage relative to Russia is loud and unyielding in America. Yet, 17 House members stood up to the pressure, voting against the bill. Here is the short list:

Andy Biggs (R-AZ)

Dan Bishop (R-NC)

Lauren Boebert (R-CO)

Cori Bush (D-MO)

Madison Cawthorn (R-NC)

Scott DesJarlais (R-TN)

Matt Gaetz (R-FL)

Louie Gohmert (R-TX)

Paul Gosar (R-AZ)

Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-GA)

Glenn Grothman (R-WI)

Clay Higgins (R-LA)

Thomas Massie (R-KY)

Ilhan Omar (D-MN)

Bill Posey (R-FL)

Chip Roy (R-TX)

Tom Tiffany (R-WI)

Hopefully, the number in the House and beyond of opponents to the push for war and trade restraints will grow quickly.

Massie is an Advisory Board member for the Ron Paul institute for Peace and Prosperity.

Reprinted with permission from the Ron Paul Institute for Peace and Prosperity.

Comments are closed.